Each year, iNACOL honors and celebrates 4 education innovators for their great work in the field of online, blended and competency education. At the annual Symposium, iNACOL President and CEO Susan Patrick announces pioneers in outstanding teaching, innovative practice, research, and individual achievement.

Intent to Nominate due August 31, 2015.
All nomination applications due by September 14, 2015.
Please send all intents to nominate and any questions to

iNACOL Blended and Online Learning Teacher of the Year

This award is given to a K-12 educator who exemplifies, to the highest degree, a deep commitment to student success, knowledge and skill, and dedication to online and blended learning. This winner clearly meets, if not exceeds, the standards for quality online teaching established by iNACOL.

Eligibility requirements:
  • Teaching candidate must currently be serving as a blended or online teacher in grades K-12.
  • At least 75% of the teacher’s instructional time is spent as either a blended or online teacher.
  • Nominations can be submitted by the nominees themselves or by a reference who is able to support the nomination through personal involvement with the nominee.
  • Nominees for this award are not eligible for the iNACOL Outstanding Individual Contribution Award during the same award year.

2015 Blended and Online Learning Teacher of the Year Award nomination form: (PDF)  (Word)

Innovative Blended and Online Learning Practice Award

This award recognizes a person, school/program, or organization whose innovative practices or policies serve as a model for other K-12 blended and online learning practitioners. The innovative practice or policy should improve overall effectiveness, efficiency, and success of blended/online learning – leading to improved student opportunities and achievement levels.

Eligibility requirements:
  • The innovation results in a “break the mold” practice or policy that has not otherwise been routinely implemented and serves as a model for other educators and programs.
  • Nominations will be accepted for individuals, teams, schools, programs, or organizations.
  • This award is targeted toward blended/online learning practitioners, not organizations who deliver technology products utilized within the digital learning community.

2015 Innovative Practice Award nomination form: (PDF)  (Word)

Research Award

This award celebrates outstanding researchers whose work demonstrates new breakthroughs or replicable advances that promotes excellence in online and/or blended learning and teaching.

Eligibility requirements:
  • The nominee may be a student, individual, team, or educational institution that has or will published the research.
  • The research must focus on K-12 blended/online education and learning.
  • The research/dissertation/analysis must have been completed between July 2014 and August 2015.
  • The research/dissertation/analysis must represent sound scholarship. The knowledge presented and conclusions drawn must hold promise to improve K-12 education.

2015 Research Award nomination form: (PDF)  (Word)

Outstanding Individual Contribution to K-12 Blended and Online Learning Award

This award honors an individual whose insight and innovation has significantly increased the credibility and advancement of K-12 blended/online learning. This award celebrates outstanding effort and leadership, focusing on an overall body of work, not merely an isolated breakthrough.

Eligibility requirements:
  • Any individual who has worked in, or provided support to, the field of K-12 blended/online learning.
  • Nominations can be submitted by nominees themselves or by a reference who can support the nominee through personal involvement.
  • Nominees for this award are not eligible for the Teacher of the Year award during the same award year.

2015 Innovator Award nomination form: (PDF)  (Word)